Traditional ideas from older people about the way to live and behave are not helpful to young people and their futures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many are of the belief that past traditions now hold little future value for young people. In my opinion, there are still important lessons young people can learn from their cultural heritage. Supporters of this contention argue that the changing world has made old ways of life irrelevant. This is especially the case as technology has hastened cultural and economic upheaval. In the past, an individual’s grandparents might be able to give worthwhile advice related to how to behave at work and manage their relationships. This is now less true than ever before because of the advent of social media apps, dating websites, remote working and the loss of traditional career paths. The growth of the internet has had a further globalising effect that erodes the uniqueness of cultures. For example, recent women’s empowerment movements have occurred simultaneously globally, often in conflict with the traditional values of individual nations. Nonetheless, tradition serves as an increasingly important guide in a world with few fixed values. As the world has become more secular, religious values have declined but cultural traditions remain intact. A standout example of this would be the strong familial ties in Asian nations such as Japan, Korea, China, and Vietnam. Children in these nations are expected to listen to the advice of their parents, maintain cultural traditions, and behave within certain ethical bounds. Without these customs to guide their behaviour, young people would be at the mercy of the values espoused in popular media. However, by following mores from the past, young people will have a foundation to judge their present and future actions. In conclusion, despite the decreasing relevance of tradition in the modern world, it still holds an important place as a basis for ethical behaviour. Young people must therefore temper their desire to reform with a sceptical reverence for the past.