Social media such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram has replaced face-to-face communication in our everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages.

In recent times, both the young and older generations are on social media. Many individuals are of the opinion that social media has replaced one-on-one communications and it is disadvantageous to all and sundry. Admittedly, it makes us cut people off from our immediate environment. Nevertheless, despite this disadvantage, it has an intriguing benefit as it makes us communicate with friends and family at anytime and anywhere. On the one hand, social applications encourage an individual to neglect the people around them. This is due to the fact that when their eyes become glued to mobile phones in the course of chatting, they will avoid interacting with the people in their environment in order to avoid distractions. For example, a study carried out in Nigeria on the etiquette of the use of phones, showed that 45% of married couples abandon their spouses and children when chatting. However, despite this disadvantage of encouraging us to do away with the people close to us, it has an advantage of making communication to be done anywhere. Thus, the advantage outweighs the drawback. On the other hand, people believe that social media gives us the privilege to interact with people at any time of the day and in any place of preference. This is because it is not always compulsory to see the people who are chatting with physically. For instance, often times, I chat with my friends on Facebook when I am in the rest room and sometimes, we discuss at length on Watsapp late at night when we are free. From the aforementioned experience, it is apparent that we can communicate with one another from our various comfort zones at any point in time. Therefore, the advantage of social media surpasses its drawback. In conclusion, some people think that social media is more disadvantageous than face-to-face interaction. In my opinion, the benefit of social media can not be compared to its drawback.