Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different views about implementing international news as a course in high schools. While some folks argue that doing so is wasting their students’ time because it is better to spend on more important subjects, this essay believes that this new subject can enrich children’s knowledge. Allocating time for a new subject that covers global news will interfere with their schedule on the primary subjects. This is because students are mainly focused on courses like science and math. After all, these fields of study have more weight on the final exams or universities’ admission tests. Thus they want to have more time to focus on more important courses. For example, in Indonesia, the university entrance test for high school students generally covers science and math. It does not test their understanding of global issues. However, this essay disagrees with this opinion because getting updates about advancements in developed countries will broaden students’ knowledge. In contrast, having pupils study related to international topics allows them to broaden their literacy. This is because many developed countries have more advanced research and share their new inventions through the media such as news. This enables children to discover new global trends and design their futures. For instance, Berry W, a leading data analyst in Indonesia, started his interest in programming in high school. He first learned this new field from news when at that time he rarely found any professional data analyst in Indonesia. He enrolled in a boot camp to develop his skills. Now he is well known for his digital skills. This essay believes that this is proof of how international exposure through studying global news will bring benefit to pupils. In conclusion, even though some people argue that implementing a subject about international news is not an important thing, getting more updates about developed countries’ news will enlarge the children’s knowledge.