Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We can all unanimously agree to the fact that we all should strictly abide by the rules of the government and any laws or rules implemented is to have a huge impact on the country. However, I believe in a 'single man army' and contend that every individual has the potential to make a change in the environment we live in. The below paragraphs will elaborate on my thoughts in detail. Multinational companies put up stalls and exhibitions to advertise their companies. Sometimes taking an extra step of setting up volunteers for campaigns related to environmental and health issues. These marketing strategies have an enormous reach to the public. People are captured by the high rated models who run the campaigns and follow the methodologies and tips to keep their environment clean. Political leaders also approach the public directly and set up facilities like garbage disposal units, pollution control units which helps citizens to have a clean environment. There are two common factors here, firstly the funding that makes all of this possible. Secondly, the direct contact of both MNC's and the government with the public. In contrast to the aforementioned facts, the motivation in one person's heart can outweigh both the company's and government's funds and reach the public. For example, there are TV commercials showing one person disposing garbage rightly into the dustbin and the entire village following his footstep. This commercial was inspired by a real incident in Lucknow. Like it is said that one vote can change the future, one person can also change the environment. He or she can start a page or club on social media where everyone can be educated on how to to make the surroundings clean. To conclude, I believe a change in one person's heart can create a huge impact in the crowd and by doing so we can all live in a pollution-free environment.