Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well, while others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, parents have relented in the manner by which they discipline their wards. The dialogue on whether or not to punish children has led to polarized views. Although, some individuals believe children should be dealt with when they misbehave so as to teach them morals, others are of a contrary opinion. In my view, I vehemently agree with the opinion that kids should be taught good behaviours by punishing them accordingly because it makes them be of good characters. On the one hand, some people say children should not be punished, instead, they should be praised and rewarded which will not bring the children to the realization of the negative impacts of their grievous acts. This is due to the fact that no measure was taken by their parents to rebuke them thereby leading to criminality in the future. To buttress, a study was conducted in a prison in Nigeria around 2018, it was deduced that 85% of inmates were not adequately penalized by their parents when they were younger. However, this is not a good approach because of its negative end result. On the other hand, many individuals including myself thinks that reprimanding a child is better as it makes the ward to be well-mannered. This is because they will always remember vividly the effects of the previous punishment they had and desist from unpleasant characters. For instance, when I was still a teenager, I fought with one of my friends in school, and when the school authority reported to my parents, I was severely beaten and ever since then, I developed a phobia for fighting. From the aforementioned example, it is apparent that punishment makes children have good manners and I strongly agree with this view. To sum up, a reasonable amount of people are of the opinion that punishing children is the best way to imbibe good behaviours in them, while others disagree. In my opinion, disciplining them is the best approach to teach them to behave well, as it makes them have good morals.