In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is claimed that in the upcoming years, people will be about to not pay and read printed news and books as they prefer to read them online for free. I partially agree with this statement as I believe that books will preserve their status as a printed source while newspapers will be eliminated. On the one hand, there are several reasons why the newspaper would disappear in the future. Firstly, these days, newspapers are only bought by a few numbers of the elderly who find it hard to learn to read news online through social media and Google. However, most population in the world consists of the new generation which prefers to keep up with news online as they can access the news wherever and whenever they want just by touching a button for free. Secondly, newspapers are usually printed on a weekly and monthly basis so it is more likely to print outdated news. Finally, newspapers cannot cover all news due to this, individuals find it better to search for their favorite news and read them on the internet. Thus, newspapers would not have enough fans to be printed anymore. On the other hand, in my opinion, printed books have never lost their status and digital books have never been a substitute for them. Perhaps the main reason is that the majority of people opt to read paper-based books as they convey a sense of nostalgia when their papers are touched. Also, some people would like to protect their eyes from the light of the phones' screens, tablets, and laptops as they might stare at a monitor for a long time because of their employment. For example, a friend of mine avoids reading digital books as she does not want to deal with the hassle of eyesight problems. In conclusion, in my point of view, newspapers would not be used anymore. It is because people find digital-based news a better alternative. However, I do not think that the same would happen for printed books because they would maintain their advocates in the future, mainly because of their emotional values.