Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

People have different opinions in regard to letting those attending university have a choice of courses or degrees they like. While some argue it is far more useful to study areas that ensure their future career or profession. From my,standpoint I believe that they should be able to learn about any varied courses they wish to. On the one hand, it cannot be denied the important function of forcing students to choose useful subjects, such as mathematics, chemistry, computer science and so on. It is obvious that studying these curricula can be beneficial especially when students tend to look for job opportunities, because technology brings a lot of economic prosperity, which induces people to study subjects concerning science and technology and therefore increasing chances of recruitment, paving a road straight to a guaranteed future. Moreover, not only can individuals gain but society also profits. More scientists and engineers mean society can develop at a faster pace, meanwhile, they can transport new inventions and economic growth that lead to future wealth. However, being free to choose subjects students are fond of is more important than having a restriction on choice in my opinion. Firstly, so-called useful subjects are not necessarily useful for one's future, particularly for those people who are not interested in science, lack of interests in subjects always results in distraction in class, failures of relevant tests, then they will cause an unpromising future. Secondly, nobody can precisely predict what will be useful in the future. Even though choosing a practical subject currently may not be useful still in 15 years. In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have a right to study whatever they like.