Doctors should be responsible for educating their patients about how to improve their health. Do you agree with this?

It is considered that the responsibility to instil in patients ways to be healthier ought to lie with doctors. I completely support this statement, as this would both help to curb the attempts of self-treatment and the use of unrecognised alternative therapies among people. The availability of many information sources at present makes the process of searching for any knowledge both easy and fast. The medically related information, in this sense, is not an exception, because those suffering from a particular health complaint tend to now go online first, and try to relate their symptoms to a particular disease on their own. This can be truly illustrated, should we take the recent spread of Covid-19 into account, when the social networks became full with a huge volume of content recommending various questionable methods and medications to avoid the Coronavirus. Having been left alone with this knowledge, most put their body at serious risk by applying those practices and drugs without the guidance of doctors. Raising public medical awareness, in this sense, gains enormous significance, if we want to minimise similar cases of unsupervised treatment in the future. Another factor that substantiates the need for providing society with professional knowledge in keeping mental and physical well-being is the popularity of unproven alternative medicine. Although such traditional alternative therapies as acupuncture and massage can be helpful in tackling particular health issues, there are also so-called healers who put forward non-operative and herbal approaches as a solution to different health problems. However, at best these methods are nothing more than a placebo unless their efficiency is confirmed by the World Health Organisation, and at worst they may be dangerous worsening the condition of a person through side effects. To suggest that doctors should supervise their patients in order that they become aware of proven techniques to reach better health, therefore, is to save thousands from damaging themselves. In conclusion, I absolutely agree that patients need to be guided by doctors in the path to improved health since this can prevent us from self-harm.