Some people believe that the media, such as the press, TV and Internet should be more strictly controlled. Others feel that controls should be loosened to give people freer access to information. Discuss both views.

A part of the population believes that current media (press, television and internet) should be controlled very strictly while others disagree by stating that there should be more freedom in getting information. First of all, is easy to understand the part of the population that wants more control. The media is controlled by large corporations that only want what is best for them, thus making the content potentially dangerous because of disinformation. Even though The Internet is not private it can be a place where you can find from a video on how to play the guitar to content explaining how to build a bomb. For example, a terrorist attack can plan everything from information obtained from this source. However, history has documented cases of countries that use media control to influence the people. Any type of control over the information is dangerous, even promoting dictators and making people disappear without any consequence. In China the media access is very controlled, which have caused the people not to be aware of anything that happens around them, during the pandemic, for example, it was forbidden to write anything about it and this caused many people to die. In conclusion, even though too much media and internet liberties can have dangerous effects it can also misinform and rob people of freedom, while the examples we have of countries in which everything was controlled did not bring good results for their people.