In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, parents used to teach their kids that everything is achievable with enough effort. This opinion has both benefits and disadvantages from an objective viewpoint. Firstly, such a message gives children confidence in their capabilities. In addition, it creates a desire to develop your own skills because you are convinced that you will accomplish. For instance, a child may try to memorise new material in school, but fail to do so. Instead of giving up, they will recall their parents' words and will make a greater effort. Personally, only because of this point of view, I have achieved success in several mathematics olympiads so far. I always remember that if you fail to attain a desired outcome means that you have not tried hard enough. On the other hand, this point of view has some setbacks. Despite the benefits, if you have been putting all of your efforts for a long time but without a desired result, you would likely be devastated and disappointed. Moreover, it not only ruins your confidence, but it also makes you think that your parents lied to you. For example, there are individuals who have dedicated years of effort but have not achieved their goals due to factors beyond their control. From my knowledge, there was a person in my secondary school who wanted to participate in the International Mathematics Olympiad. Additionally, they have been spending all their time mastering new skills in math. Regardless, they have not passed a team selection test even in the last grade. As a result of this experience, they are not sure that they are capable of doing anything with just enough effort. In conclusion, this message has psychological advantages on our behaviour, such as confidence. Nevertheless, it has disadvantages like desperation in case you fail.