Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Economic growth is considered a major index for measuring improvement, therefore it's always a priority for the government. Some believe that a first world country is differentiated from a third world nation based on its GDP, which is another technique of evaluating economic rise. However, I contend other factors like environmental protection, education and social conditions are equally important for the advancement of a nation. On the other hand, it could be argued that economic growth creates more profit for the business. As a result, the stock prices rise, and it provides additional capital to the company to invest and hire more employees. Hence, it helps in improving the standard of living of the consumers and creates a prosperous environment for all. Moreover, economic evolution not only leads to a lower percentage of inflation but also reduces poverty. Therefore, it might be believed that economic growth generates higher revenue for the consumers as well as for the governments by imposing higher tax estimate. However, in my,view equal importance should be given to other factors apart from economic expansion. First, today the environment is depleting at an impeccable amount and economic progress cannot restore it back. Although economic progression often leads to huge industrialization, it is the major source of global warming. Second, the people of the country should be offered a better standard of education that would help in increasing the literacy quota of the country; resulting in better employment. Moreover, social conditions should be given due importance. Countries that top the list of developed nations still face a huge percentage of racial discriminations and crimes against women and children. In conclusion, although economic expansion aids in the overall advancement of a nation, I strongly believe that government should give equal importance to other factors as well in order to establish a sustainable environment.