Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that these days, information technology has become an integral part of human life. It has changed the way we work, the manner we study, doing activities or chatting with each other. There is a range of positive and negative aspects in terms of this phenomenon, which I will discuss now. One of the undisputed advantages of information technology is that it provides people with many conveniences in modern life. First of all, we can use the internet to be in touch with other people no matter where we are. It is able to assist us to make new friends around the world through social networks and the most typical one is Facebook where people can share anything they want by posting a status or some pictures for instance. Furthermore, information technology also enhances the quality of life or dedicates to the development of science and medicine. It seems that giving an account about all information technology ’s conveniences is out of the question. On the other hand, one of the biggest drawbacks of information technology is that it reduces communication and interaction between people. It is true that human no longer spends time outside or makes social relationship in certain cases due to the advances of e-commerce, they are able to buy anything online. Actually, some youngsters can be fond of wasting a lot of time sitting at their computer or lying on the sofa and surfing their mobile phone. In addition, there is a strong controversy that spending more than three hours a day, particularly for children, watching the screen can have a detrimental effect. To sum up, it appears to me that there are arguments for and against the idea of information technology is varying a wide range of aspects of our lives. However, the important thing is to be aware of these issues and keeping our lives in a balanced way.