The use of mobile phones should be banned in public places like libraries and shops. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mobile phones have been an inextricable part of the modern world, and they have brought in its wake not only benefits but also drawbacks. Opinions differ as to whether or not those gadgets should be allowed in public places. From my perspective, the use of cellphones should be banned in areas where they may cause unwanted disruptions such as libraries or hospitals, but in others they should be welcomed provided that they are used in a cautious, respectful manner. In certain places such as libraries or hospitals, I agree that cellphones should be banned as they can be very disruptive or potentially harmful. In a library where great concentration is required, a mere sound from phone notifications can be greatly irritating. This is why many libraries in the world have rules and regulations against people talking or video-calling on the phone. Moreover in hospitals, phones are greatly restricted as they can hamper the recovery of people hospitalised. No patients want incessant noises of people talking loudly and laughing on their phones, and what is more, the use of phones can be hazardous especially in intensive care units as they are believed to cause electromagnetic interference with important medical equipment. Apart from the aforementioned areas, when used judiciously, phones are greatly beneficial. Many daily tasks are carried out by phones, and there are certain jobs, such as businesspeople, that require making frequent phone calls. Furthermore, smartphones can provide solace during tedious long periods of daily commute, and in case of emergency such as car accidents, emergency calls are greatly needed. Therefore, I believe that banning them in those areas is simply not helpful and unrealistic. In order to avoid intrusion from loud phone rings, phone users can always activate the vibrate or silent mode and refrain from speaking with high volumes. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the ban on mobile phones in hospitals and libraries can be justified. However, other than those places the use of phones, with manners, should be embraced.