The number of multicultural cities is increasing due to globalisation. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

A highly controversial issue relates to whether the fact that multiculturalism is more and more prevalent because of globalization is beneficial or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe as more and more towns are becoming multicultural, this does more good than harm to people's everyday life. There are some individuals who argue multiculturalism has favourable effects on their lives. The main reason for believing this is that their lives become less monotonous and boring. For instance, there are a large number of stores in Osaka offering food from abroad, enabling people there to add spice to their lives. It is also possible to say companies in multicultural cities can increase their creativity. For example, Japanese people are good at improving the quality of existing products, while Americans produce goods from scratch. By combining both of their merits, companies can continue to release a lot of high-quality goods and services. On the other hand, others claim multiculturalism is an undesirable trend. They have this opinion because it leads to cultural losses. Tokyo attracts people from all over the world, and residents there often see those around them speak foreign languages and feel as if they were in another nation. As a result, the uniqueness of Tokyo seems to have vanished. The second point is that multiculturalism deprives local people of job opportunities. For instance, Immigrants from other nations work for lower salaries than local citizens. This is exactly what is happening in the U.S. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their own merits. On balance, however, I feel the fact that an increasing number of towns is becoming multicultural is preferable. Human beings have an innate tendency to shun boredom, which needs are met by multiculturalism.