Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A particular lobby of intellectuals in society are of the point of view, that libraries are outdated and hence, their place should be taken over by computers. A conflicting section of society is completely against this and are of the opinion that replacing libraries with computers will be a disasterous step to take. I support the latter, since I strongly feel that no other source of information can replace the age old science of reading books. Firstly, computers have ushered in an era of digital knowledge. All the information which one needs on any topic is available at the click of a button. For example, one can surf through the wikepedia on to understand every aspect of that subject with its time-line. Since, computers provide the desired information in less time, space and infrastructure, they should be replace reading-houses. On the contrary, reading books, visiting libraries are the traditional ways of learning since times immemorial. There is no better way to relax than a good book in a comfortable environment. For example, you cannot replace reading a book with surfing the internet just beore goint to bed. Libraries house thousands of books written on a wide range of subjects. One can walk through any section of the library and read through relevant book. Reading enhances the ability to concentrate and stay focussed on accumulation of knowledge. The biggest drawback of computers is the distraction and temptation to surf other sites, play games, visit social networking sites. This flip side of computers certainly gives the libraries an upper edge. To conclude, I reckon that though technology is important and desktops are cost and space effective resources, spending money on establishing and maintain libraries is certainly more satisfying and