The best way to prevent people from smoking is to impose high taxes on tobacco products. In this way, people will be less likely to develop a long-term addiction to smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a great deal of attention has been paid to smoking habits. Some people insist that authorities should go up taxes on tobacco products to prevent smoking. I strongly agree with this opinion because it is impossible to motivate human beings by punishments, and there are more efficient solutions to prevent addiction to smoking. To begin with, the first reason why I support this is that punishments, such as high taxes are not the best way to motivate people to change. It is evident from phycological research that punishments do not encourage people to change, but rewards do. Therefore, authorities have better tell how good events will happen when smokers stop smoking. As a matter of fact, the number of smokers has increased for several decades in Japan, despite the tobacco tax has rose to around 60 per cent in 2020. In addition to this, the another reason why for supporting this is that there are far better ways to address this. For example, electronic cigarettes, which are less harmful for mankind and less addictive, should be introduced. In fact, 20 per cent of smokers in Japan transfer to electric tobacco from ordinary one, and they are satisfied with it. Furthermore, heavy addicts have better go to see a doctor, since tobacco addiction is curable. Thanks to the development of medical studies, smokers are able to quit tobacco addiction with medical supports. This is more effective and faster than imposing taxes. To conclude, I reiterate my complete disagreement to the topic. This is because high taxes are not limit people's actions, and there are more efficient ways to address this including to introduce electronic cigarettes.