Countries should produce the food that their population eats and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to you answers

It is considered by many people that nations should produce enough food to fulfil the demand of their citizens without depending on others, so that the probability of food crisis should be eliminated from the nations, otherwise it can cause the dangerous consequence of food insecurity. I agree with the statement. From my perspective, it should be a priority of every nation because it elevates the food security and employment rate in the country. To begin with, producing crops in bulk will be beneficial for the nations to save some food which can be utilized during disasters such as food crisis earthquake, and tsunami. This will help the nation to feed, its people while in crisis. Because scarcity of food can lead to many social problems within the nation such as, rise in the crime rate. For example, the Times of India reported in a recent survey that Mexico is a self-sufficient country during the second world, till now serve its people and become one of the happiest countries. Further, the agricultural sector impacts positively the country economy. The primary reason of that is when nation produces their food, it increases the demand for labour which provides the opportunity for jobs and eradicate poverty. In addition, crops are produced naturally without using fertilizer, pesticide which prevents people from cancer and arthritis. For instances, India is one of the countries whose half of the population is dependent on farming, with a good immune system and a major exporter of wheat worldwide. In conclusion, food security is an absolute necessity currently. Therefore, I believe the nation should raise the capacity of food production and make its economy more stable.