Many children have become habitual about excessively using mobile applications day and night. Why do you think this is so? What parents can do to avoid this situation decling further?

In today's world everyone, regardless of age and gender is engrossed in their own mobile phone world. All eyes are focussed on their phone screen using various applications according to their interests, this is due to availability of electronic gadgets in every home and abundance of all kinds of applications for social networking, games, reading and other variety of hobbies. With the advancement of technology, children are learning about computers and programming at a very early age. Therefore, they are exposed to all kinds of devices in school and at home. Also, with addictive multi player games available, children compete with their friends to get higher ranks and brag about it. There is a lot of peer pressure to stay abreast in latest games and, friend circles are built according to the games you prefer. Another reason for humongous amount of time spent on mobile devices is nuclear families with working parents, since both parents are working, time spent with kids is little and due to security reasons kids are not supposed to go out alone. Therefore, they are stuck inside their homes and usually spend their time using mobile phone since they can't go outside to play with their friends. Since this problem is enormous, it cannot be easily solved using a few steps. Though the parents can take some measures to reduce the screen time to a max of 1-2 hours. Also, parents can take out some time everyday to take their kids outside and play with them and engage them in physical activity. In conclusion, I would like to say that due to continuous evolution of technology, children would always be actively engaging with various mobile applications but we as parents can always ensure that the screen time is kept within certain limits. Parents can teach their kids how to use technology in a sensible way and guide them to become better human beings.