Buying things on the internet such as books, air ticket and groceries is becoming more and more popular.Do the advantages of shopping this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the years, shopping online has evolved to be one of the most convenient ways people get things they want. Nowadays, a number of people now purchase air tickets, books, and groceries on the internet. I believe this is a welcome development and this essay would discuss why the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks. Obviously, one of the reasons why people shop online is due to the cheaper price of items. Therefore, most products are always on sale, hence shoppers prefer to buy things at a discounted price due to their minimal budget. To illustrate this, a study carried out by researchers amongst students of the University of California in 2010 using questionnaires found out that 80% of students had at a point in time bought products on sale due to the affordability. Hence, no wonder most online stores sell out in a couple of days due to the affordable prices they offer their customers. In addition to the point highlighted above, people prefer online shopping because of the convenience it offers. In other words, customers can shop on any website of their choice from the comfort of their homes without having to worry about delivery. One clear example is that nursing mothers prefer to buy diapers for their babies online as it is not only cheaper but also delivered to their doorstep without moving an inch from their houses. Thus, the ease of shopping makes people prefer this option. Conclusively, it would be erroneous not to mention the downside of online shopping which include the risk of receiving damaged or substandard goods. However, the advantages which include buying things at a discounted price and the convenience it offers far outweigh the drawbacks.