Television news contain more bad news nowadays. Some people say it is a negative development. Do you agree?

Every day, more devasting reports are being televised for the general public to see. Many are of the opinion that this is not a positive development; while others believe that it is in fact, a good thing. I completely agree with the former; however, I will explain why I believe some are of the opinion that this is good. A journalist is known to capitalize on the ills that befall the universe. Wherever there is a disaster or an accident, there'd be more reporters present than at a wedding ceremony. Why? Because humans generally always looking for what could be going wrong. For example, on October 10 2020, there was a massive protest in Nigeria where over 300 youths were massacred while protesting. Twitter was said to have generated $90B in one day from the traffic their website got. When media houses focus on how much they are generating and only report the negatives, they make the world look scarier than it actually is. Nevertheless, it cannot be ignored that for a long time, a greater population of the universe has been ignorant of the occurrences that have plagued the world. Many believe that this is because reporters have tried to trivialise what has actually been going on by not reporting the facts. For example, the only reason why the world is aware of the gross dictatorship North Korea is under is because of the news being aired on TV for everyone to see. When you try to protect people's feelings by not telling/reporting the facts, you help them live a lie. In conclusion, with television news being the major form in which we get information, a lot of fear has been and can be planted in our minds. Reporters will always try to capitalize on whatever is wrong with the universe.