Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some professionals that it is important for children to learn a second language at primary school rather than secondary school. Although learning another language at primary school has some drawbacks, the essay argues that the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages. One of the drawbacks of teaching a new language in first years of school is that it will be hard for pupils to learn it, and it will take more time that can be used to focus on studying their native language at this age. For example, in my country, which speaks Arabic, we see that students who study in International Schools can speak both Arabic and English, but it is notable that their Arabic language is not as strong as other regular students ’ native language. However, learning new language has many benefits, one of the important benefits is that it increases the fluency of that language for students at the time of graduation as they start to learn from early years of school. For instance, students who learnt English in early years received acceptance in foreign universities with less effort spent in doing English tests than others who did not. Moreover, learning another language helps kids learn the culture of foreign countries and makes it easy to communicate with other students of these countries, which helps them socialize and become more mature. To conclude, teaching new language to pupils in first years of school has some disadvantages, but it also has many important advantages, and the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages.