Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. Agree or disagree?

It is argues that governments should invest more finances in railways than roads. This essay agrees that the railway system should be allocated a larger budget. Firstly, using means of public transport is not only cheaper but also more reliable; secondly, it is more environmentally-friendly to take a train. Frequently accessing railways is less expensive and more stable than using cars. People tend to save money on petrol and car maintenance by only buying a ticket for a train. Hence forth, through substituting vehicles with trains, there are less opportunities for cars to break down requiring less money to be spent on fixing the problems. Furthermore, the railway system runs on a strict schedule which prevents delays that can occur on the road like traffic jams. New York is a prime example of this, in which individuals opt for utilising subways as it is a cheaper altenative and allows for more punctuality. Public transport has greatly reduced the amount of pollution cities experience. Railroads have a larger capacity allowing a large quantity of people to travel in the same direction at the same time, lowering the amount of pollution emitted. However, with automobiles, there is a limit of five passengers causing a greater amount of cars to be on the road leading to the expulsion of more carbon emissions. For instance, the environmental benefit of railroads over roads has caused more experts to advocate for the usage of such systems. In conclusion, trains should be given priority over roads because it costs less money and is more constant. Moreover, it is a great way to help save the environment.