Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet to socialize with others.This has led to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

There are many youngsters who join the internet without being monitored by their parents, which put them in unsafe position such as being hunted by sex offenders, and allowing hackers to access their computers and offend their privacy. The can be solved by having parental control, and by having their computers updated with the latest security software. The main problem young generation face when using unmonitored online social media is sex offenders, who are people who fake their identities to attract children attention to interact with them for sexual purposes. For example, a sex offender can trick a child by making him believe that they like each other, and then ask for sexual pictures or to meet offline. Another problem younger generation could face online is hackers, who can send them harmful links that could fill their computers with viruses or allow hackers to gain access to it and offend their privacy. One effective solution to deal with this problem is for parents to supervise their children access to the internet. This can be done by installing programs that control access to dangerous or adult websites and block them. Moreover, it limits children’s access to share information or send files to anyone. For instance, Apple and Android phones and tablets has a feature that allows children to access Apps that are only approved by parents. Another solution is to equip their computers with anti-viruses that scans every file and make sure it keeps their computers safe from being hacked. To conclude, children’s unmonitored access to the internet can lead to critical situations such as being sexually offended or hacked, this can be solved by parenting control and ensuring the latest defence software are installed on their computers.