A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Imposing sentences is widely accepted as a method to punish those commit serious offence and sometimes as a correctional method. This approach may be effective, but we should also consider other ways to reform offenders. A long prison sentence means that those who violate laws will lose freedom for a prolonged period of time, a consequence that no rational person is willing to take. The criminal record can have a lasting impact on their lives including their career. They will not commit crimes when they realize the problems that ensue; instead, they will choose to find work or run a small business to earn a living. This can help create a peaceful and safe community. While I agree that a long prison term may sometimes help us fight crime, we can consider community service as an alternative. This punishment can make some offenders, especially those who committed minor crimes, law-abiding citizens. They can learn how to act as meaningful members of community by cleaning streets, removing graffiti and tending gardens, and realize that they can contribute to society. If they are sentenced to prison, they will possibly make friends with other offenders. They will not repent or take stock of their lives, so they may reoffend after being released, which can pose a threat to other members of society. We can also provide educational opportunities and vocational training for them, improving their interpersonal skills and job skills. It is worth noting that many juvenile offenders or first -time offenders broke the law because of a lack of social experience or low socio-economic status. Crime is no longer an option, if they can obtain an employment and understand legal responsibilities. The prison can isolate criminals from society, shattering their confidence in finding work and reintegrating into society. To summarize, I agree that the harsh penalty can deter crime, but it is not the best approach. The focus should be on changing the behaviour of offenders and helping them function as productive members of society.