It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for this?

More and more students take a gap year before applying to university. This, will give them the chance to travel around the world and to have some work experiences. However, this is not necessarely the best option. It is very common nowadays, that students wait for one year before applying to university. This, allow them to have the chance to visit new countries, learning new languages or simply making new friends. Many teenagers divides the year in two halls half halfs, in order to cover their expences for the months abroad. In fact, they work for the first six months trying to make some work experience while earning some money, especially if they do not receive any help from their parents. When they feel confortable and ready to depart, they generally choose inexpensive places close to the sea to enjoy and recharge the batteries before getting into university. However, even if these aforementioned reasons of having a year off, seems resonable, it would also come with some negatives aspects. In today todays world, there is a high competition to get into the best universities and also the less famous one, are doing a selection with difficult exams to be able to apply. Therefore, many students that take a gap year often struggle to pass these tests because they need more time to study and focus for many hours. This, will inevitably bring them a lot of pressure and sometimes students who have suffered particularly, prefer to find a job instead of loosing another year finding the way to be accepted in an university. In conclusion, it is very common amongst students to have one year off before entering university. Althought, this comes with many benefits it is possible that for many of them would be a double edge sword.