News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to write in newspapers. What factors influence these decisions? Do you think we become used to bad news? Should more good news be reported?

Nowadays, news has a growing influence on the public. ‘Good news ’ and ‘bad news ’ can have very different impacts on the way we think. Therefore, the factors editors consider when selecting news materials becomes a matter of many people’s concern. This essay will discuss these factors and the effects of good news and bad news. When deciding which kind of news to report, editors need to consider the interests of their media companies and the public they are supposed to serve. The interests of the company require the stories to attract viewers to gain profits. Therefore editors would choose the news more compelling than others. For instance, during the period of the presidential election, a candidate’s speech can be more favourable than the release of a new movie. However, editors should not only consider the attractiveness but also ensure the reliability for public interests. Some information can be compelling but misleading. For example, unproven claims that certain food can cure COVID-19 can cause panic buying and bring no benefits to audiences. Responsible editors will not release such unreliable news. As bad news is often more compelling than good ones because of people’s negativity bias, it is more frequently reported. We can find the news about crimes, corruption and environmental pollution on television and the internet all the time and we are used to them. It is not necessarily bad for people to hear bad news. For example, reporting crimes can raise the public’s vigilance and protect them from danger by this means. However, too much bad news can cause extensive anxiety which makes viewers depressed and worried. Therefore, more goods news, such as social progress and good deeds, should be reported to help people develop positive attitudes toward life and acknowledge the goodness existing in society. In summary, attractiveness and reliability are two of the main factors editors would consider to serve the interest of media organization and the public. The public is used to bad news as it has been extensively reported. Though it can have good effects on certain cases, more good news should be reported to balance the anxiety it causes.