Higher education could be funded in three ways. All costs paid by government, all costs paid by students or students paying all costs through a government loan. What are the advantages of these choices?

Higher education is important for both individuals and society as it enables individuals to pursue a more satisfying job and better life and provides society with a more innovative and productive workforce, although it can cost a large amount of money. Therefore who should pay for it is a question worth considering. The three given options, government paying all costs, students paying all cost and students paying all costs through government loans will be discussed in this essay in terms of their advantages. Government paying all costs can ensure all qualified high school graduates the opportunity to receive higher education, irrespective of their economic conditions. This funding model helps to promote social equality and to narrow the gap between the rich and the poor. For instance, people from low-income families can find jobs with high salary through college education and improve their living standards. Students paying all costs by themselves could motivate them to learn harder with moderate stress. As they are fully aware of how much they invest in their education, they will make more efforts to complete it and gain benefits from it. The second advantage is that government can save money on education to spend them on more urgent public affairs, such as poverty and health security. The paying mode that the government offering low-interest loans to students considers more about students ’ benefits and education equality compared to the second option. People from low-income families will not be held back from college finding the cost unaffordable. For governments, this option will not cause too much financial burden as they can expect the money from the release of the loan to be returned. In summary, students paying by themselves could motivate them to study hard but can affect education equality. Government paying all costs is best for students ’ welfare but burdens itself. Government offering loans is a compromised way that not only supports students to embrace higher education but also generates revenue for governments.