Many museums and historic sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than by local residents. What are the causes of this? What can be done for museums and historic sites to attract more local visitors?

Most of the traffic in museums is generated by tourists instead of local visitors, This essay will discuss what are the possible reasons for these statistics and also provide some solutions that help to increase the flow of domestic guests. To begin with, The principal reason why only foreigners are attracted to museums might be that they want to grasp the opportunity to see them at least once in their lives since they might not probably come back in the future, residents on the contrary take that opportunity for granted since they think the museum is always gonna be there so they can come around any time, which ends up in that they never put a step into the place. For example, a tourist visiting the Louvre in Paris will wait as long as necessary to see Davinci's Masterpiece the Gioconda while a Parisian might not be that interested because they have it there all the time. In order to increase the affluence of non-aliens in the venue, its managers should organise activities that caught the attention and engage people to participate and be part of it. A good example could be inviting local celebrities on certain holidays or festivities and invite the public to attend the event. This type of marketing strategies allow to hook up the guest and once they are inside, create the best experience to keep them coming back for the next events until it becomes a regular hobby and distraction. To sum up, museums administrators should develop marketing strategies that generate interest in the local community by setting up a variety of events such as inviting famous people on special occasions likewise people living in the city do not take the place for granted since they might not be able to have a second chance to see it.