The number of multicultural cities is increasing due to globalisation. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

A highly controversial issue relates to whether the fact that an increasing number of towns are becoming multicultural owing to globalization is preferable or not. This essay explains that there are more merits than demerits. Firstly, multiculturalism can serve as a way people strive for diversity. Individuals in multicultural towns can lead a less monotonous and boring life. For instance, there are a lot of stores in Osaka selling food from all over the world. This enables residents there to add spice to their lives, which for those who live in a community where only Japanese people dwell and goods from abroad are not treated is impossible. On the other hand, some claim that multiculturalism brought about by globalization leads to the loss of cultural identity and this is not undesirable. They have this opinion because being surrounded by those with different cultural backgrounds, they may forget their cultural origins. However, thanks to exposure to other cultures, they can become more aware of the pros and cons of their own culture. For example, without being exposed to different cultures from their own, they would be parochial and be left behind in the world as Japanese people in the Edo era, when they had no contact with others from abroad. In conclusion, there are not only merits but also demerits to multiculturalism. On balance, however, as more and more towns are becoming multicultural, this positively affects people's everyday lives. This is because multiculturalism brings excitement and wider viewpoints to them.