In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. šŸ”øWhat are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is true that some children are frequently told that if they try hard enough, they will get anything they want. But in some cases, telling them such is not always completely true, I believe there are two aspects within this behaviour. On the one hand, kids can gain advantages from the process of making efforts. First of all, once children believe this message it encourages a desire to attain something, and therefore, try their best to reach their goals. For example, if a boy has an aspiration about obtaining a qualification that can make him enter into an elite junior high school, he will study hard enough, hence, relating knowledge he can receive. Moreover, it will nurture qualities such as diligence, this approach not only works on one level, but also will be beneficial with a variety of actions in purchasing success. On the other hand, this sentence may act as a curse their whole lives. Firstly, if children are convinced by the declaration that they will succeed as long as they devote enough endeavours, and they try it, but consequently fail, no doubt that they may be overcome by self-doubt, and not performing well enough may mentally torture them. This perhaps could lead to some mental and physical illness. Furthermore, children who can not get the result they have expected will not believe the function of struggling anymore, possibly resulting in allowing themselves to degenerate, which could have a long term effect on their future lives. In conclusion, the advantage of telling children they can succeed with hard work may be good for the confident child, but in contrast for a less than confident child to be told to do their best, but without any heavy pressure may be the best course of action.