Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that all walks of life have permission to attend higher education, and the national authorities should waive their tuition. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I assert that this policy also brings some drawbacks to that notion. On the one hand, it is understandable why the tuition exemption should be implemented. First and foremost, it could help individuals have decent occupations. This is because, without worrying about money, they do not need to find a part-time job as well as having time to focus on improving their scores at school and learning relevant job skills such as communication, teamwork, or problem-solving ability, which could satisfy the corporations' requirements after graduating. Furthermore, providing free-of-charge education could support the country's development. To be more specific, the more people enroll in universities, the more professional employees such as doctors, engineers, or accountants are created, thereby greatly contributing to the thriving of their country by paying more taxes. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the free college policy could be disadvantageous to a certain extent. One rationale is that it could negatively affect the quality of education. This is because teachers and lecturers might work overtime to teach a huge number of students, which could cause them to fail to guarantee the quality of teaching as well as reduce their students' academic performance. Another justification is that the enormous cost incurred to abolish tuition and pass this law could put a strain on government coffers, thereby leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare. As a result, ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, would struggle even more to make ends meet. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that pursuing college without any fee might have some merits, I would contend that governing bodies should consider this decision carefully because of its serious repercussions.