Many people use social media every day to get in touch with others and news events. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

It is argued that the advantages of using social media every day to communicate with others or to read news outweigh the disadvantages. I disagree with that extent because the intensive usage of social media could take a great amount of time and additionally increase your anxiety and stress levels. Many people use social media every day to talk to their friends or to permanently update a newsfeed. Such activity tends to consume an enormous amount of time, because such media services were designed to motivate users to spend more and more time using them, since the advertisements are an integral part of their ecosystem and the main source of income. A lot of applications whose goal is to limit screen time, such as ScreenTime Control or LimitYourScreen, could be considered as a proof of the fact that such a problem is well-known and widely discussed. Surely, to stay in touch with other people is necessary for a person, as well as to know what is happening around them, but the use of social media should be decreased to avoid time wasting. In addition to the issue of time -consuming, such attraction to the newsfeed could be the reason for high levels of stress and anxiety. Because of mental involvement in the great number of negative events all over the world, a person might feel the rising level of restlessness and tension. Such applications as Twitter and Facebook provide convenient feeds containing news, opinions or forecasts for future events, and it is believed that most of them are negative. Additionally to that, some recent studies about the use of social media tell about the new trend, so-called "Doom-scrolling", which means that being aware of dangerous accidents or prediction of such, forces people to update the news in their applications every 2-3 minutes. In conclusion, despite social media allowing people to connect to each other and to know about the surrounding world and events, I think that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in that case. The main arguments for that are significant time -consuming and unnecessary levels of stress and anxiety.