Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that all children have different abilities and are unique. While some people argue that students at school should be divided into different groups based on their abilities, many others believe that children with various intellectual abilities should study together. In this essay, I will address both sides of the argument and explain my support of the latter view. The division of students into classes based on their abilities may have a number of detrimental drawbacks. Firstly, streaming can bring about labelling. More specifically children at their young ages may start dividing and stigmatizing the students below their levels. Secondly, students with worse academic achievements will not have a chance to learn from more advanced ones. For instance, while studying in school I always used to take an example from the students with excellent grades and believed that I could also study the same good. However, there is likely less disruption and peer pressure at lessons, since all the students would be focused on classes tailored individually for their abilities. On the other hand, in mixed classes, all students have equal chances to work on their skills and improve their academic achievements. When all students learn together they may have a scent of competition which can have a conducive effect on their studies. For example, children will not be neglected by their parents for being "less intellectual". To sum up, I would concede that steaming may have some advantages for students with good academic achievements. Despite that, I believe that co-studying facilitates a more comprehensive learning environment equally for all the students.