In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages to study abroad?

These days, more and more students would study abroad than before, due to a variety of benefits for their own future life and career. This essay will explore the cons and pros of this subject. Let’s start by looking at the advantages of studying abroad, one of the main positive of studying abroad is the access to superior facilities and tutors means that you have the chance to see a side of your major that you may not have been exposed to at home. In addition, a student will learn self-reliance and a sense of independence to test their ability to adapt to diverse situations. On the negative side, it should be pointed out that not all students can thrive away from home and family supports. Take a foreign student as an example, whose native language is not the same as the host country's language. Not only he or she has to study hard to understand the lessons in a foreign language, but also he or she may need to do a part-time job in order to support and pay his tuition which makes it overwhelming for some of them. Another drawback is that students may suffer from culture shock and find it hard to adapt to a new culture. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation. To sum up, there are both pros and cons of studying abroad which make it not an easy choice for all the students. Personally, I think the benefits in terms of personal growth outweigh any negatives.