Some people think that the effective way to reduce pollution is to tax the companies which cause it. Others think that there are better ways to achieve this. Discuss both the sides and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that pollution can be reduced effectively by taxing the companies causing it, while other people think that it can be achieved in alternate ways. In my opinion, I consider that imposing a tax on organizations causing pollution will help curb the situation. On the one hand, it is often believed that taxing companies causing pollution, will reduce it effectively and I agree. Companies will devise proper waste management systems to properly get rid of bi-products produced by their assembly line to avoid taxes. Moreover, this will encourage companies to compete with each other to be more observant and considerate of their environment. For instance, nowadays consumers are keeping an eye on organizations that are more environmentally conscious, resulting in sudden environmental friendly initiatives over the last decade. In fact, there has been around a 4 per cent reduction in water pollution in the last 5 years. On the other hand, many people believe that there are better ways to reduce pollution instead of taxing companies. One reason is that imposing a tax on companies would incur a huge loss, resulting in limiting their spendings on waste management systems. For instance, companies in India are paying high taxes for generating pollution and are unable to afford proper disposing plant for their wastage, resulting in increased pollution indices over the last decade. In conclusion, people may have varying opinion on whether to impose taxes on companies polluting our environment or not, I think that companies generate enough profits and should be taxed based on how much of the environment they are polluting.