Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that travelling overseas for vacations and holidays does more harm than good to the travelled places. However, I strongly disagree with this belief. Travelling abroad not only strengthens the economy but also creates employment opportunities and breaks stereotypes. Foreign travel boosts the economy of a country because all the purchases made by visitors add to the funds of the country in the form of taxes. Niagara Falls-the world’s largest falls attract a thousand tourists every year and raise a huge profit from visitors. Also, it provides the residents of the country opportunities to earn extra by becoming homestay families to the tourists. Furthermore, various countries like Canada, the USA, UK and Australia etc. require a visa to travel as a result the application fee paid towards getting the travel, tourist or visitor visa directly benefits the government. Even, some of the sites are specifically maintained to attract tourists and the profit gained from tourism contributes towards the annual maintenance of the special attractions. Every culture is labelled with some stereotypes but when people from different cultural backgrounds meet each other, often these stereotypes are broken. Even the travellers travelling overseas become really sensitive towards other cultures. Although, we can not overlook the fact that travelling abroad comes with certain risks like human trafficking, rapes and exploitation etc. these problems can definitely be avoided by being more alert and careful while exploring different places. Therefore, the advantages of visiting foreign countries outweigh the disadvantages. Also, problems caused by this can be solved by being more cautious and vigilant.