Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue against capital punishment as they believe imprisonment is better, if not to say the best punishment for villains. I totally agree with the idea that the best punishment for criminals is prison as my own perspective is that it forces them to experience both mental and physical sufferings, as well as guilt.  The first reason why I am on the side of this idea is that prisons make villains live in anguish. By staying in cramped and unhygienic rooms for years, they will be relieved of freedom. Moreover, criminals in prisons can be attacked by other prisoners; therefore, they will suffer from physical pains which are regarded as what they must experience due to their misbehaviours in the past. Those mental and physical torments happening in prisons are the best punishment for criminals. Another reason is that, not only in prisons, but also when criminals are free, they will face challenges to reintegrate into the community because people are usually afraid of those who have criminal records. Consequently, they will find it difficult to seek jobs that affect their economic conditions, leading to a worse living standard; besides, they may be alone because rarely someone wants to make friends with criminals. Only by having been behind bars, criminals can feel remorseful because if they had not committed a crime, they would not live in difficulties now. In conclusion, I strongly think that imprisoning criminals is the best punishment. Therefore, I firmly suggest that criminals should be incarcerated in order to undergo anguish and guilt.