SHOULD GOVERNMENT REGULATE THE FAST FOOD INDUSTRIES IN THE SAME WAY THAT REGULATES THE DRUG, ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO INDUSTRIES?

It is prevailingly known that fast food does harm to humans’ health so that this industry should be regulated compatibly with the drug, alcohol, and tobacco industries’ regulation. This notion brings up multifaceted opinions in both agreement and opposition. Personally, I think the fast food industry is so different from the other that the government should not regulate it in the same way as the drug, alcohol, and tobacco industries. Firstly, fast food may cause negativity for health; nevertheless, it is not responsible for severe consequences in the same way as drugs, alcohol, and tobacco are. Those addictive substances are known to effect a change in humans’ consciousness, resulting in uncontrollable thoughts and actions which lead to malfeasance. On the other hand, fast food is not detrimental to mental health; in some circumstances, it even does good to people by making them feel satisfied when consuming delicious meals which, thus, produces positive energy. For example, a person eating McDonald feels pleasant as he can finish an appetizing meal and save time. Some advocates may argue that despite the fast food ’s minimal harm, the policy should be conducted so as to eliminate as many risks as possible. However, once the government applies the method of regulating the drug, alcohol, and tobacco industries on the fast food industry ’s management, it will strongly be affected. It is not worthwhile to make great lengths to oversee such an industry producing hardly any severity. Not only is this regulation nominal, but it also induces extravagance of the governmental financial budget. Consequently, it will transgress other aspects; namely, allowances for education or medicine are now distributed to a trivial task. In conclusion, the fast food industry should not be regulated in the same way as the government does to the drug, alcohol, and tobacco industries.