Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what way has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has gradually got its position in humans’ daily lives. It undeniably affects a positive change on how people make relationships. Technology assists people by providing a multitude of means of communication, such as texting and video calling. It is so convenient that people only need the internet to handle issues related to relationships. For example, teenagers can easily find information about their crushes and flirt online. Distant-relationship couples, especially, are benefited from technology since they can feel closer despite geographical distance. Moreover, users are able to extend their networks where they can meet people from all over the world instead of merely those surrounding them. Thanks to this change, individuals nowadays have opportunities to find companions who are compatible with them in distinct aspects. For example, Chinese learners are capable of joining communities of language lovers and approach effective methods of learning. On the other hand, opponents of the change due to technology may argue that it does take some risks. It can easily be seen that people are becoming more parasitic on phones and laptops, resulting in their idleness to meet face-to-face. Therefore, virtual life, which precludes intimacy, is to be more enthralled than real life; in contrast, people in the past preferred gathering and directly chattering. However, since they spend much time on the internet communicating, they will still appreciate rare moments with their dearest people, so that technology does not ruin the relationship at all. In conclusion, technology brings multifaceted influences on how people make relationships. Nevertheless, its advantages outweigh disadvantages in which relationships are more positively affected by technology.