Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

It is a practical fact that most manufacturers use a huge amount of sugar to produce food and drink all around the world, which has an unhealthy outcome for users down the road. While some believe raising the price of the product will affect consumption of less sugar, I disagree and think the decision won’t be as satisfying as most hope. On the one hand, adding sugar makes foods and drinks taste unbelievably better, which is one of the reasons why more and more people choose them. Also, there are scientific prove that sugar makes humans happy due to the release of far more endorphin hormones in the body. That is why most individuals eat ice cream in times of crisis, such as a bitter divorce or bad break-up, or even when they are having a whale of a time, namely, birthday or graduation parties, to feel more joy and happiness. So, no matter the cost of products, the public still buys them either in times of celebration or in sad situations. On the other hand, not controlling the rise of consumption can have severe consequences, such as diabetes and obesity in society. That’s why the companies try to use healthier ingredients rather than omit sugar completely. For instance, producing products without any regular sugar that still taste the same is one of the solutions in the food industry, and even though the products are normally more expensive, by appropriate advertising, the sales are highly above average, and a lot of families prefer to buy these new products. This method is becoming a highly trending one nowadays. In conclusion, I have a strong feeling that raising the cost of food and drink would not have an adequate aftereffect on the rate of sales, and one way for individuals to stay healthier is to encourage the community to purchase replacement products, even with an extra cost.