Written exams were first used as early as 1702 and are now used to test ‎students' understanding and abilities in almost every subject. However, in ‎recent years, the variety and frequency of exams students have to sit have ‎increased significantly. What issues does this cause, and how can they be ‎addressed?

In many countries, traditional exams are commonly used to grade pupil at ‎the end of every semester. These formal examinations are carried out in order ‎to assess pupil ' academic skills and grade them accordingly. Nevertheless, ‎another form can be undertaken / there are other grading criteria that schools ‎can undertake to assess their pupil. For example, they can ask them to write ‎a paper or give a presentation. ‎ The academy need to gain information on a student's academic level to ‎determine the grades and promote them to the higher class. In other words, ‎written exams ask the pupil to answer the questions, allowing them to evaluate ‎their knowledge and grade them accordingly. For instance, academy would like ‎to know whether they can promote their pupil to the higher class and ‎whether they have to improve their teaching methods to adapt to the pupil ' ‎level. It is for these reasons that formal examinations are still used in schools ‎and universities today. ‎ However, a formal examination is not the only way to measure the student's ‎performance. There are several other informal methods, as well. Instead of ‎writing exams, pupil can be made to perform technical writing or prepare ‎the presentation. pupil may even perform group discussions throughout the ‎semester. For example, many universities in Germany focus on practical ‎knowledge and assign a small project to write a technical paper and present ‎findings. Even though these forms are not formal, pupil can gain the ‎practical experience needed for future endeavours. ‎ In conclusion, regular examination is still a common practice worldwide, and it ‎helps to monitor the pupil ' progress to promote them to the next class. ‎Despite the ubiquity of formal assessment, there are other much more varied ‎and sometimes creative ways to examine pupil.‎