Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, educational institutions have their own policies regarding uniforms. While some high school authorities believe that uniforms do not affect academic achievements and are unnecessary, others argue that discipline is an important part of the education process. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support of the latter view. Convincing arguments can be made that uniforms have manifold benefits. Firstly, following a dress code facilitates fostering disciplined individuals. Therefore, undergraduates will be well-prepared for their future lives and careers. For instance, a student who wears a uniform every day tends to become more responsible over time. Additionally, students will not be distracted by the colourful and attractive clothes of their peers; hence, they can pay full attention to academic achievements. Lastly, wearing uniforms makes everyone look equal. Students will not be stigmatized based on their clothes. This is also beneficial for parents; they won't have to spend money on different clothes od their children. Alternatively, a free dress code gives undergraduates the freedom to express themselves and become more creative individuals. However, the students wearing anything they want tend to spend much time on their styles and self-identities; thus they cannot fully focus on their studies. For example, teenagers generally pay much attention to the clothes they wear trying to look more attractive. As a result, they get disrupted from the learning process. To sum up, I would concede that wearing uniforms may limit a student's creativity. Despite that, wearing uniforms helps undergraduates to focus on their academic achievements.