The best/ only way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

One school of thought holds that an increase in petrol prices is the most effective measure to deal with environmental problems that happen worldwide. While I acknowledge the reasons behind this thinking, I am of the opinion that there are particular measures that could be more effective than raising fuel costs. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people propose increasing petrol prices as the foremost method of addressing environmental problems. The key rationale is that this practice would lead to a decrease in the amount of petrol consumed for transportation. This means the discharge of CO2 and other pollutants, the main culprits behind global warming, would be reduced. However, such a scenario would not happen since using petrol terms is a deep-rooted practice of humans, which could be seen in all vehicles that currently use petrol as the main source of energy. Therefore, raising the price of petrol should not be deemed as a practical solution. On the other hand, I believe there are other measures that can be more workable in addressing environmental problems. One of these is to raise public awareness about the consequences of environmental pollution. For example, it is imperative that campaigns that encourage citizens to use public transport SHOULD BE intensified, which may directly reduce the volume of exhaust fumes from private vehicles. In addition to this, the government should allocate more money to researching and developing green technologies, such as renewables, which is key to lowering the reliance on carbon-intensive energy sources. Compared to heightening petrol costs, these solutions tend to be more sustainable in solving environmental issues. In conclusion, for the reasons elaborated above, it stands to reason that increasing petrol prices should be considered as the best way to mitigate environmental problems and that the proposed measures seem more workable.