It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree with this opinion.

Children may find it difficult to understand what is right and what is wrong, which must be taught to them at an early age. While it is argued by some that they should be punished in order to learn this, a few disagree. I stand by the latter and this essay will elaborate on the point. To start with, the decision of what is right and wrong may confuse children at a young age, hence it is mandatory for elders to provide adequate guidance. Knowing the correct path will help them to respect others and the values of life, and become righteous with their activities. Such youngsters seldom have the tendency to jump into being an anti-social element, due to their well-nurtured growth. For example, a survey conducted by the Child Welfare Society in the US urges people to foster more young ones due to a visible decline of pre-teens in juvenile homes, which is considered a great development. Secondly, as many would believe, punishing small kids for their ignorance of righteousness can provoke them more to continue a negative lifestyle. On the other hand, many parents use care and affection to guide their children, which impeccably produces great results. In the event that the father and mother are unable to attend, other alternatives are sought out. To cite a common instance, in countries like India, most working guardians, leave their toddlers with their grandparent's who are considered the best source to nurture young ones in a proper manner. In conclusion, being correct or incorrect is a hard decision a child can make. Nevertheless, with tender affection by the folks or family, it can be attained which also helps society in reducing the numbers of young offenders.