In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Technological advancement made people to work from home instead of working from office. This essay will discuss positive and negative impacts of working from home. The main positive points are saving people ’s time, meanwhile, the environment. While the negative points are less work efficiency and network connection problem. Firstly, working from home made people to save the commuting time that many people live far from their work, which sometimes they spend two hours to reach. When I was studying at Canada some of my teachers where living in Missisaga and usually it takes two hours to reach the Downtown where they work. Secondly, it helped in saving the environment because people not using cars or public transportation and this, as a result, protect the environment. As well as, pollution is responsible for global warming so it is a good idea to save the environment, for example, in India many children has lung diseases because of air pollution. The first drawback is that working from home made people less efficient and lazy because they get used to work according to their comfort zone, and no one is monitoring them. The second drawback is that losing network connection from time to time can make an issue, since the employee is using his own WIFI. Therefore, this might lead to a misunderstanding between the staff and the management, that they would think that they are doing it purposefully to avoid working. For example, when I was working from home we were having a very important meeting and suddenly my WIFI went off and my manager called me and asked why did I leave the meeting. In conclusion, working from home has positive and negative effect on the employee and the enjoyment. It saved people time and the environment from pollution while, the disadvantages made people less efficient and bad network connection from home, that might go off from time to time. However advantages are outweighing disadvantages and I prefer people to work from home.