The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Despite notable and notorious repercussions of smoking, the majority carry on with this routine. Consequently, the causal factors in regard to addiction and the multiple approaches to minimize cigarette consumption in the community will be discussed further down. Even though, various objectives such as the psychological and educational background of a person are to be considered when it comes to substance abuse, yet, the most obvious culprit would be the presence of nicotine in smoke which is addictive to the consumer. Eventually, people fall into the pattern of regular intake and the desire to smoke increases over time. Evidence wise, it has been clinically proven by several pieces of research that after long term exposure to nicotine, individuals develop tolerance, craving and withdrawal and are less likely to recover without a strong mentality. Without a doubt, the counteractive means towards lowering tobacco dependency can be taken by a large body of institutions such as the government by enacting law and order. For instance, putting the age limit to who can get access to the cigar and raising the tax for the product in order to lessen the number of people getting a hold of the substance. Moreover, other bodies like the World Health Organization can also take part by educating about the associated risks in less developed parts of the globe or by opening recovery camps where it is needed. Significantly, the number of cases drops around the world after embodying the issued guidelines according to the recent statistics. To conclude, despite knowing that tobacco claims a plethora of lives, smokers keep on with their obsession. This is due to the fact that nicotine is the major source for fixation, however, the cooperation of various organizations can work through in turning down future incidents from drug enslavement.