Plastic shopping bags contribute the pollution of land and sea, some think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been seen that usage of polythene bags is responsible for increasing the pollution level of land and water bodies, because of that some people believe that the use of plastic bags should be prohibited. I totally agree with this opinion because it has dangerous repercussions on the planet and the government should prohibit them from being used for shopping purposes. To begin with, plastic bags have a detrimental impact on the environment because they are non-biodegradable. This means that these plastic pieces may take hundreds of years to decompose into the soil. Apart from this, if these bags buried into the soil or thrown into the ocean it will harm the marine and wild animal because if these animals will eat polythene bags and then enter the food chain causes the major issue and even death if ingested. For instance, the Time of India reported in a 2017 survey that 1000 street animals such as cows and buffaloes die due to the consumption of plastic bags in urban cities. However, higher authorities should try to change the behaviour of consumers before completely banning plastic bags. This can be done through awareness campaigns in which government can introduce the concept of 3rs that is Reduce, reuse, and recycle. These bags are not a vital part of the shopping so consumer should encourage to use bags which are biodegradable. In addition, imposing high taxes on polythene bags encourages consumers to reuse them. This will help in reducing hazardous waste from the environment. For example, Thailand initiates a national campaign called “No Plastic ” in which Thai consumers motivate to reduce the single-use plastic at grocery, restaurants, and industries. Therefore, half of the cities in Thailand are plastic -free. In conclusion, it is important to abolish the use of plastic bags to preserve the life on the planet and protect it from dangerous effects from non-disposable products.