1. Computer technologies are more accessible and cheaper, as the result, more adults work at home and children study at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

The widespread of telecommunication technology has opened up possibilities for working and studying at home. With the necessary equipment, such as the Internet, laptops, and printers, employees nowadays can work from home at ease, and students can enjoy unlimited access to knowledge through distance learning. One of the most apparent advantages of this development is greater flexibility. By working remotely, employees can choose to perform daily work after finishing household chores or childcare responsibilities rather than sticking to a fixed timetable. Students can manage time and plan their learning process in line with their actual command of lessons since online courses spare them the trouble of struggling to keep up with teachers in classes. Another benefit is enhanced availability of employment and education. Home-working makes it more possible for employers to recruit people living in another city or even disabled workers, thus job opportunities more accessible to individuals. Similarly, online learning is remarkably favourable for students who live far away from school or those with physical handicaps. On the other hand, it should be noted that this trend might bring about some problems. Employers may have to face difficulty monitoring and evaluating employees' performance if a flexible work mode largely dominates a company. Likewise, distance learning may lead to the possibility that some young students who lack self-discipline would be affected by violence and pornography on the Internet. However, these troubles can be solved by strengthening supervision. To be specific, employers can make a detailed daily task list for workers and check their work regularly. As for students, they are giving timely parental guide and limiting their access to the Internet is a productive way of protecting them from going astray. My view is that working and studying at home is a positive development. Nevertheless, appropriate methods should be worked out to prevent the likely problems from this move.