Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extend do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is common for some adolescents to travel to another country during their education for a short time. The number of experts assumes that international student exchange programs are highly beneficial for adolescents. It is argued that the advantages of this program outweigh its drawbacks. In this essay, I will outline some possible benefits and cons of this subject. The advantages of these experiences are more than their disadvantages. Personal development is the main one, due to a number of activities that they have to do alone without parental help, they will gain more independence and confidence. Getting familiar with new cultures is also another benefit. By living in a host country, these young people have the opportunity to experience new things, namely, traditions, food, habits, mindsets and social norms which foster tolerance. Learning a new language is a significant advantage of these multinational exchange visits, students are forced to speak with local people to meet their daily needs, which is more efficacy than a classroom. However, the drawbacks of this subject should not be overlooked. Imposing the high Cost of living on families is the first one. Parents must pay high transportation, activities, and settlement payments. Feelings of homesickness or culture shock are important for teenagers who are at a critical age and already have an identity crisis, so with living far away from their family, this emotion could be enhanced. Furthermore, there is a risk of becoming addicted to drugs. Teenagers at this sensitive age, away from family supervision, may make friends with the wrong people and turn to crime or drugs. In conclusion, although international exchanges can be costly and emotionally challenging for young people, the opportunity to develop language skills and personal independence is not denied. Therefore, it is clear that the advantages of such programs far outweigh the disadvantages. Governments should try to make these exchanges more accessible to all students.