In modern society, fashion is becoming more and more popular in people’s choice of clothes. Why? Do you think it is positive development or negative development?

With the advent of technology, pop culture has reached every nook of the earth and more and more people are being receptive towards the latest fashion statements and societal demands of being at par with fashion culture. For instance, as soon as a famous teenage artist sports tight leather pants, the next day a million of his followers can be seen imitating the style. It is conspicuous that people are more indulged with pop culture due to unprecedented connectedness of the world along with the social media accoutrements, therefore, first, they observe the global fashion trends and follow the same subsequently. I will try to analyse these clothing selection choices and their positive and negative developments in this essay. Firstly, people spend money in order to either facilitate the ease of their lives or they want upliftment of their social stature. Of late, a tsunami of fashionistas and trends has been observed over the internet and advertisements; in addition, famous personalities continuously make fashion statements through social media. Tremendous psychological manoeuvring and persuading have been done by these tools, as a result, people have accepted fashion clothing as the new norm of society. On a positive note, it has expanded the fashion industry and local markets, accordingly, the job demand along with the number of small businesses has also seen a steady rise in the last decade. On the other hand, the world has become one now and news travels like a wildfire; notwithstanding technical interconnectedness, people have drifted apart and social media has assumed the new societal role for these people. Consequently, there's a huge pressure of maintaining the latest trends, be it clothing, culinary showcasing or travelling; people want acceptance from their peers for their lifestyle and choices, resultantly, they choose what is popular and in-demand. Additionally, everyone seeks to add uniqueness to their nature and appearance, this desire also leads people to choose exorbitant and designer fashion clothing. Following fashion demands can be advantageous in order to maintain social inclusion and developing a cultural bond with neighbours and acquaintances. To sum up, in my opinion, people want the approval of their immediate connections and thus they adopt socially accepted fashion clothing in their lifestyle and endeavour to follow the updates in it as well. However, this could be detrimental for people psychologically and economically. On the contrary, the positive sides of this fashion following are also plenty and could result in increased social value. Nevertheless, a balance must be maintained.